Sometimes being a foodie can have its upsides!

I often hear people say that going on Facebook is a waste of time. I’m often agreeing with that. But sometimes, you can make nice discoveries and that happened to me this week. A friend of mine put a nice foodies special offer and put my name knowing my interest for cooking. A new Butcher shop online, Biobic.ca, had a nice idea to spread the word about itself. Of course, here I am talking about it here !

They invited foodies (or still doing it until their max of 50 is reached) to suggest a recipe using one or many of their ingredients. In exchange, they send you the ingredient(s) for free and you have to submit them a picture of the result. I must admit that I was a little skeptical, very skeptical. I filled in the form to create a profile on the website and I send them the recipe I wanted to do. I didn’t know if I would receive what I suggested. I was ready to wait and see if I would get spam emails out of it or food by regular mail. I wasn’t disappointed!

The butcher shop is selling a lot of different types of meat, all of them are organic and Eco friendly. When I went to their website, I really tried to find something I never ate before to try it. I saw lamb, beef, chicken, veal, sausages and guinea fowl (or pearl-hen). I never ate guinea fowl ever so I said, Bingo, that’s what I’m going to try! I searched on the internet for a recipe that was simple and easy to cook this nice bird. I found on a well-known chef in Canada a recipe of guinea fowl with fresh herbs. I almost had all the ingredients in hand so I could cook the recipe if I ever received anything. The company specified that if they were out of an ingredient they could send us something else. I had to wait and see if I would receive something and if that thing would be guinea fowl.

Two days later, at work (that’s the delivery address I gave them) I receive a box with my name on it. I was sure it was the sweater that I forgot at my in-laws over the holidays. When I opened the box I saw the pamphlets from Biobic and a pick package wrapped in paper. I actually received something from that butcher shop I signed up at. I was astonished! The meat was neatly wrapped, frozen so I put it in the refrigerator in the employee’s kitchen at work.

That night, I explained everything to my husband that barely believes me. “They sent you this for free? Just like that and you only have to send them a picture? Wow!” So we started cooking the guinea fowl together. The recipe is really fabulous and so simple also: fresh herbs, butter, garlic, onion, wine, chicken broth. Really nothing expensive, extravagant or hard to find. That’s something that actually annoys me sometimes with cooking shows. Some chefs use ingredients that are just impossible to find and people get discouraged saying they will never find anything like that in their town or that it’s too expensive. The recipe that I tried, other that the guinea fowl, probably cost 20$ for the other ingredients and in my case, I already had them.

IMG_0945

The recipe asked for fresh herbs. I used the ones I had and used dry ones for the ones I was out of. I even substituted some that I didn’t have dry or fresh. The result? Really good, delicious, succulent! You need a little patience to lift the skin everywhere even in the legs without ripping it, I give you that, but the rest is a piece of cake. We served it with acorn squash and spinach salad.

IMG_0947
We chop the herbs and garlic together to make the herb butter.

IMG_0949
A little bit of herbs, lemon juice, garlic and butter. That’s all and it can make wonders under the skin of a guinea fowl.

IMG_0951
My husband had fun with the skin of the guinea fowl. 🙂

IMG_0954
Once the butter is under the skin, we stuff the bird with onions and garlic.

IMG_0952
Then we make a bed of onions, garlic and thyme and we pour wine and chicken broth on it.

IMG_0956
We tie the guinea fowl and we put it on the vegetables.

IMG_0960
That’s what it looks like when it’s cooked! 🙂

IMG_0963
You have to admit even at a left over it looks delicious, don’t you think?

IMG_0962
Here is the result with the acorn squash and the spinach.

You know when you have turkey or chicken for dinner and all your guests as asking for white meat from the breast? Well you’re going to be surprised but in the case of guinea fowl, the legs are the best part! Indeed, the brown meat is the meat that my husband and I preferred. The skin was golden just like I cooked a BBQ chicken from a restaurant. You have to be careful not to overcook the guinea fowl otherwise you’re going to end up with dry meat that is light years from what this bird has to offer.

So, sometimes, wasting time on Facebook can be useful and even get you to try something new!

Here’s the recipe :

Ingredients

  • 1/2 teaspoon of fresh thyme plucked
  • 1 teaspoon of oregano plucked
  • 1/2 of teaspoon of fresh rosemary
  • 1 tablespoon of flat parsley chiseled
  • 5 garlic cloves pealed
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup of softened butter
  • 1 guinea fowl (pearl-hen) of 3 1/2 lb
  • 2 onions, roughly chopped
  • 1 sprig of fresh thyme
  • 1/2 cup of white wine
  • 1/4 cup of chicken broth
  • Salt and pepper
  • Butcher’s string.

Preparation
1. Put the grill on the bottom. Preheat the oven at 200°C (400°F).
2. Chop the herbs and the garlic clove.
3. In a bowl, mix the herbs, the butter, the chopped garlic and the lemon. Add salt and pepper.
4. With your fingers, lift the skin of the bird without ripping it and without taking it out of the bird. Rub the meat under the skin with the butter and spread it evenly under the skin.
5. Stuff the bird with half of the onions and 2 garlic cloves. With Butcher’s string, tie the legs of the guinea fowl to give it back its shape. Add salt and pepper.
6. In a cooking pan, put the rest of the onions and the last 2 garlic cloves. Add the thyme sprig, the wine, the broth. Add salt and pepper.
7. Put the guinea fowl in the pan on top of the veggies. Insert a meat thermometer in the leg without touching the bone. Cook 15 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature at 180°C (350°F) and keep cooking for about 1h15 or until the thermometer is showing 82°C (180°F).
8. Before serving, serve it with cooking juice.

Bon appetit !

Leave a Reply

