Fresh Avocado Lime Smoothie

During the holidays, I’ve watched a lot of food documentaries. As a foodie (I don’t know what is the true definition of a foodie is but I love food, talking about food, trying new things and discovering new things to eat so for me that’s my definition of a foodie) and having to change my eating habits, I try to do what’s best when it comes to eating but it’s sometimes confusing and overwhelming. Lots of information about good fat, bad fat, your ideal carb intake and all that jazz are available and trying to eat healthy the most you can is a jungle in some way. People close to me are vegans and talked about the health benefits of what they eat, doctors say things too, nutritionists have their views even trainers at the gyms give you their advice. So, I guess I’ll have to make my own mind and try to have a balanced diet with what I believe is good.

One thing I did hear about and always wanted to try was making smoothies filled with good stuff in it. I’ve seen many documentaries or even website gurus saying “Juice up your life “, “The power of Juicing“ and all that stuff. Smoothies or juices are a good way to pack on fruits, veggies and proteins that aren’t as transformed as a juice you’d get at the store because there is so much stuff they add to it. Of course, using fresh, untransformed ingredients can’t be bad for you!

So here I was, trying to make smoothies, and trying to find out which flavors to mix with each other. Two of my sisters in law told me it was easy to put things together as they created smoothies themselves but I was wondering if I would like the taste. My fear was to become a weirdo who ate undrinkable juices just because it’s good. I know it’s stupid but I really thought that.  It’s one thing to have a green juice or smoothie, packed with vitamins and health benefits but it’s another thing to have a juice that tastes horrible. For me, the taste was also important (as I’m sure it was for them also) as the benefits.

I tried one this weekend using spinach, chia seeds, plain greek yogurt, almond milk, honey, frozen blueberries, frozen raspberries and a little ice. It turned out good and I swear even kids couldn’t taste the amount of spinach that there was in there. It was really good! I’ll try to post about it and put quantities for those who want it soon.

So this morning, my husband thought he’d be sweet and tried to make one. Unfortunately, it didn’t really turned out good. I’m not saying it because I want to laugh at him because what he had in there seemed fine: spinach, tomatoes, carrots, honey and grapefruit juice. I don’t know what went wrong but it didn’t taste like he wanted at all and he felt so disappointed by the waste of our food. I thought it was so sweet that he tried to make something nice for both of us that I couldn’t be mad at him. And you know what? That could have been me, that’s why I write about this bad smoothie. Sometimes you try something and for some reason it isn’t good as you thought but that shouldn’t discourage you from trying and that’s what I did, I tried something else.

I saw on a website a recipe for a lime protein shake. I didn’t have all the ingredients nor did I want to try some of them so I tweaked the recipe a little and it turned out great and fresh. I didn’t make it as a “meal” smoothie but you could totally do that too.

So here is what I used :

Ingredients :

–          ½ avocado

–          Zest of 2 limes

–          Juice of 2 limes

–          2 cups of almond milk (that had coconut milk in it but I could have used plain also)

–          2 tablespoons of chia seeds (could be ground or not or ground flax seeds)

–          1 tablespoon of honey

–          1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

–          5-6 cubes of ice

Preparation :

–          Blend all the ingredients but the ice in a blender. Mix all those in for a smooth texture and take a spoon to taste it. If you feel the lime tastes too strong, put more milk in it or honey. Basically it’s your opinion that counts.

–          After everything is mixed together and tastes the way you want it to taste, add ice to give that restaurant smoothie feeling.

–          Drink and enjoy!

Here is a picture of what was left of my smoothie, maybe the picture isn’t great but it was truly delicious !

IMG_0839

This smoothie was sooo fresh for a morning that I feel like I’m going to try it again and use spinach in it and Greek yogurt and you could put cucumbers in it also. I’m sure it would taste great but make sure you take out the seeds out the cucumber first. So try it, make it your own and come back to me with it or even better, create one and tell me what was in there!

Leave a Reply

