Tomato soup day

There are some days in winter mostly, but they can happen at any time during the year, that I call tomato soup days. You know those kind of days where you only want to curl up in a blanket in your pajamas, watch movies and eat a comforting meal? Well for me, today was one of those days. Tomorrow means back to work after the holidays. I had a wonderful time but I feel a little tired still. Even though I love my job, the feeling of not having to wake up at a certain time, having nothing planed on your agenda and make your day as you go is something I like.

But since I didn’t feel like making something over complicated, I decided to make a tomato soup. I found a nice recipe on Cooking light. It’s a magazine my mother-and-law had and she subscribed me to it as a birthday gift. The website has tons of recipes that are low in fat or calories and filled with recipes of all types. They have a section about in season ingredients which is nice also when you need inspiration. Sometimes I’m creative, using what I have on hand to cook and sometimes I like to have a recipe to give me new ideas. I have to admit I had never cooked a tomato soup before but I really liked this one.

It’s the kind of soup that feels good to cook and to eat. A recipe with simple ingredients, simple recipe and a whole lot of flavors. I really liked it and with a grilled cheese sandwich it’s just awesome !

IMG_0829

So those basic ingredients make that awesome soup. If you’re vegan, I’m sure there’s a way to go around the cream cheese. I just love fire roasted tomatoes. They are a little high on salt when you buy the canned stuff (I’ve only seen one brand selling it here) so I usually don’t add any salt in the recipe since they have lots of them already. Those tomatoes are awesome in a chili, a spaghetti sauce anything you cook for a while with tomatoes.

IMG_0831

So we start by heating oil, putting the onions, the garlic. I used red onions but any kind would work. I just thought it would taste good and have lots of color also with the tomatoes and basil’s colors.

IMG_0832

Then you add the fire roasted tomatoes and the basil. One day I’ll master the fire roasted tomatoes. I tried it on my BBQ but I guess I failed at it because it ended up being all stuck to the grill. I’m not giving up because it’d be so much cheaper and healthier to make it at home !

IMG_0833

Then you put the cream cheese and let it melt away. I wonder if you used cream instead if it would be good also?

IMG_0834

And a little bit of blender to put it all together smoothly. You can choose to blend it lots or a little depending on how you like it. I like to leave little bits here and there and have a rustic feel to the soup.

IMG_0835

And after it’s all cooked, that’s what it looks like and it smells good in the kitchen too !

IMG_0837

And here is the final result with a little grilled cheese on the side. You don’t see it but the cheese almost all melted away when I cut it haha ! It was truly delicious !!!

So here’s the recipe !

Ingredients

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1 1/2 cups chopped onion

3 garlic cloves, chopped

3/4 cup chopped fresh basil

1 (28-ounce) can fire-roasted diced tomatoes, undrained

1/2 cup (4 ounces) 1/3-less-fat cream cheese, cut into cubes

2 cups 1% low-fat milk (I used Soy milk but any milk would be fine)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

12 (1/2-inch-thick) slices French bread

Preparation

1. Preheat broiler to high.

2. Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion; sauté 3 minutes. Stir in garlic; cook for 1 minute. Add basil and tomatoes; bring to a boil. Stir in cheese until melted. Place mixture in blender, and blend until smooth. (I used an immersion blender and did that right in the saucepan). Return to pan; stir in milk, salt, and pepper. Return to medium-high; cook 2 minutes.

So you can eat that soup, put both your hands around it to heat yourself a little and take advantage of your tomato soup day ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

