Get your morning cracking !

I love doing more elaborate breakfast in the weekend and sometimes, I am looking for ideas. And sometimes I feel like trying something new. So today, here is a recipe of Zucchini and Dill Frittata. Usually the frittatas that I cooked had other kinds of herbs and vegetables so I thought of trying something else. I had an omelet with dill and feta one day in a restaurant that I really liked so I though of twisting a little the recipe.

I have to be careful of my sugar, cholesterol intake since I had tests results that were not really alarming but significant enough for the doctor to tell me to look at what I eat for 3 months. I think I was eating healthy but maybe just too much and with too much carbs. The doctor told me to avoid white potatoes, white bread, white pasta and white rice. I love pasta, sushis, risotto and lasagna so I had to do something to change my habits and look for healthy options. I realized how good I felt eating more vegetables and how many options there was out there. Since I love to try new things, even though some days I’d put my teeth in sushis or in a fat lasagna, most of the time I go to bed feeling satisfied of what I ate today.

There is kind of a debate on cholesterol and eggs. Some people say that there is a big amount of cholesterol (close to your daily limit of cholesterol intake) in an egg entirely in the yolk. They say you should limit your yolk consumption to a minimum because what you’re going to eat the rest of your day will make you bust the amount you can eat. Some other website (British Heart Foundation, Harvard Health Publications the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada to name a few) say that yes there is a lot of cholesterol in the yolk, yes, but the butter or the bacon fat you use to fry your egg is way more worse for your heart and blood stream than the egg itself. I don’t always know what to believe and I am in not way telling you guys what is the right choice but I thought of making a compromise have egg whites and eggs with yolk in the recipe. If you feel like not using only the whites, go ahead and if you want to try it, then you can follow the recipe completely.

This is truly a recipe you can twist and turn with what you have on hands but here’s how I did it this morning. You can even do a vegan version of it with tofu (a mix of extra-firm tofu and silken tofu too !

Since I thought of you guys I took pictures every step of the way. So first, you chop the zucchini in tiny little pieces. You do the same with the onion and the dill.

You do the same with the onion and the dill.

I crumbled the feta (which could be replace by parmegianno regianno or other cheeses you have on hands). Meanwhile my husband was taking some of the yolk apart and whisking the eggs together. Then we added the dill, the feta in the eggs and beat it some more.

Then at medium heat you melt the butter (or in my case, vegan margarine that I really like, I know eggs are not vegan I just digest it better …)

When it’s melted you put the zucchini in it and then the onions.

Then you add the eggs mixture and leave it for 5 minutes. After that, you can take a silicone spatula (or any spatula) to lift the side forward and tilt the pan so that the uncooked eggs will take its place.

Afterwards, you put some foil on the handle of the pan (or not if it goes in the oven safely) and put it close to the top so that the element is close to your eggs at broil for about 1-2 minutes (keep an eye on it!)

And enjoy 🙂

Here’s the recipe 🙂

Zucchini and Dill Frittata

Ingredients :

  • 2 teaspoon of butter (margerine or olive oil or cooking spray)
  • 2 cups of finely chopped zucchini (8 once)
  • Half of an onion (it could be green onions, scallions, garlic too)
  • 4 eggs
  • 6 egg whites (or 6 eggs making this 10 eggs total)
  • 1 tablespoon of water
  • 2 tablespoon of chopped fresh dill (or 1 tablespoon dry)
  • 1-2 tablespoons of feta (or parmegianno regianno, strong cheddar etc.)

1- Preheat your pan over medium heat. Add the butter and the zucchini and cook for 5 minutes. Stir occasionally. Add the onions and cook until the zucchini is just tender (about 3 minutes).

2-Meanwhile, in a medium bowl wish together the eggs, egg whites, water, dill, pepper and the cheese. Add to the skillet and cook for 5 minutes occasionally lifting the edges of the egg mixture with a spatula and tilting the pan, allowing the uncooked mixture to flow underneath. At that point the bottom will be cooked but the top won’t be. You can add more cheese on top at this point.

3- Wrap the skillet handle with a double thickness of foil. Broil at 4″ from the element for 1-2 minutes or until the eggs are set on the top. Cut into quarters and serve immediately.

Enjoy ! And please, use this recipe and make it your own, that’s my modo !

Leave a Reply

